2017 – Teams

There are two divisions with the Premiership having Auckland, Canterbury, Counties Manukau, Waikato, Manawatu and now Bay of Plenty while the Championship has the Hawkes Bay, Wellington, Otago, Tasman, North Harbour and newcomers Taranaki for 2018.

Each team has one game against the other teams in their division with one “cross over” game played against a Championship and Premiership team spread throughout the competition.

The 2018 tournament will run from Saturday 1st September to the finals on Saturday 20th October.

The top four teams in both the Premiership and Championship go into the semi finals weekend (Sat 13th Oct) with 2nd placed playing 3rd and 1st placed playing 4th.

Finals weekend (Sat 20th Oct) sees semi-final winner one take on semi-final winner two for the Farah Palmer Cup in the Premiership division while the Championship has the same format, but the winner will move to the Premiership the following year.