Welcome to the Unoffcial Farah Palmer Cup (fan page).

Here you’ll find all the latest updates for the New Zealand’s Women Provincial Rugby Competition known as the Farah Palmer Cup.

The inaugural Women’s National Provincial Championship was contested in 1999, with 14 teams taking part originally.

In 2000 the number of teams increased to 18. The Championship was contested across divisions – originally a first division and regional divisions, which evolved into two divisions and continued in this format until 2005. Throughout this time the WPC was played under different guises – the Women’s National Provincial Championship, the Lion Foundation Cup, the Women’s Championship, and the Women’s Competition.

In 2016, the Women’s Provincial Championship was renamed the Farah Palmer Cup in recognition of one of the most iconic figures in women’s rugby.

For the 2018 tournament, the Taranaki Whio were added into the Championship league bring the total of teams for that year to 12. The following year in 2019 the Northland Taniwha were added making a grand total of 13 teams for both the 2019 and 2020 tournaments.

The 2021 edition of the Farah Palmer Cup sees the Premiership and Championship divisions reinstated and the competition kicks off earlier due to the Women’s Rugby World Cup to be held in New Zealand later in the year (that was subsequently postponed to October 2022).

Farah Palmer is a global women’s rugby icon, having played 35 Test matches for the Black Ferns and represented Otago, Waikato and Manawatu at a provincial level. In 2014, Palmer was inducted to the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

She said it was a huge privilege to have the women’s provincial championship named after her: “It’s very humbling to have the competition named in my honour. I had to have a real think about accepting it because rugby is a team sport and there are lots of women and men who have gone before me that really helped women’s rugby develop. But then I thought it is a great honour and I am happy to be acknowledged this way.” – All Blacks website.

**This site has no affiliation with NZ Rugby or any of its subsidiaries**